de | cn | ru

Incompetent and untrustworthy account manager and broker

I have no choice but to give only 1 star to Hotforex due to my totally frustrating, dissatisfactory and disappointing experience with this broker.

On Friday, 22nd December 2017, I wanted to open a new trading account in Hotforex just to trade Bitcoin (BTC) because BTC had crashed to about $13K and even $12K from almost $20K a few days earlier and I wanted to take advantage of that crash. Before opening the new trading account, I communicated with my account manager in the Hotforex Malaysia office. I told him that I was going to trade Bitcoin with the Hotforex account. I asked him whether the deposit with BTC will be fast and he said yes but the withdrawal will take 3 working days. That is one minus point to me because in another current broker that I am using, I am able to withdraw to BTC in a matter of hours, which is very fast. Another negative point is that they charge swap, although one can apply for it to be waived if you fund your account with US$50K.

After opening the new trading account, it was another hassle making a deposit. Hotforex uses Bitpay for users to make deposit of BTC. I believe most users/traders would access their MyHotForex backend account on a desktop computer. On a desktop computer, when I tried to make a deposit via Bitpay, there were two problems. One problem was that Bitpay gave a warning that one's payment must include the exact amount of BTC and also a correct bitcoin miner fee; the thing is that Bitpay doesn't specify what is the amount for this bitcoin miner fee. The second problem was that Bitpay provided an address and a QR code that wasn't an actual BTC address so when I tried to copy and paste the address to my BTC wallet in Luno, it recognised it as not a valid BTC address. I even used a QR code scanner in my Luno mobile app but it didn't work either. It's so different with my other current broker that I am using. The BTC deposit was so easy as it generated a valid BTC address and any bitcoin miner fee was already calculated in the amount shown.

Anyway, my Hotforex account manager was not much of a help either as he couldn't figure out why there was a problem for me to deposit using BTC, although he did say that payment via Luno should work as I don't need a Bitpay wallet. After wasting a significant amount of time communicating with him and trying the process about three times, I finally thought of trying it on my smartphone but I had to login to MyHotForex backend account. It worked on my smartphone because when I did because when it came to the payment of BTC, a box popped up asking which wallet that I wanted to use and I chose my Luno BTC wallet. Apparently the Bitpay address that I saw was some kind of Bitcoin Payment Protocol, and not a BTC address, so I could have tried using it until the cows come home but it wouldn't work. One point to take note was that the BTC miner fee was rather high at 0.0034 BTC, which worked out to be about $45.

About one hour later, the funds went into my Hotforex account. However, when I tried to trade BTCUSD, I found out that trading was disabled. When I asked my account manager about it, he said that trading was off on 22nd December 2017 due to Christmas and the markets closed early, and he didn't think that I was going to trade on a Friday so that was why he didn't advise me or say anything about it. I was infuriated with him. That's really poor from an account manager. He is so bad that it beggars belief.

Anyway, on Boxing Day (26th December 2017) when the markets opened again, I tried to trade BTCUSD but trading for BTCUSD was still disabled. I asked Live Chat about it and was told that BTCUSD trading was disabled in Hotforex since 7th December 2017. When I asked my account manager, he said that BTCUSD was open on the morning of Friday, 22nd December 2017, but it was closed again without his knowledge. I really find that hard to believe because it's like the right hand doesn't know what the left hand was doing. Until today, 26th January 2018, BTCUSD trading was still disabled in Hotforex.

As a result of Hotforex and my incompetent account manager, I have lost a significant amount of time and money, especially when I want to withdraw back to Bitcoin on 26th December 2017 but the BTC price was already higher, causing me to receive less BTC. And before I forget, the withdrawal to my BTC wallet takes up to 3 working days to process and then Bitpay take another 1 - 2 days to send the BTC to my Luno BTC wallet. Bitpay is so slow that it is a disgrace! Hotforex shouldn't use Bitpay at all. My other current broker that I use has such fast withdrawal times for BTC that I can see the BTC in my Luno wallet in as little as two hours.

I am very disappointed with Hotforex. I would give them 0 star if I can. I wouldn't advise anyone to open an account with Hotforex or trade in Hotforex.

Kenviro2000 2018-01-26

HotForex is a good broker for novice forex traders to start their careers: it lets you open an account with as little as $5 and actually trade with this money thanks to the maximum allowed leverage of 1:1000 and the minimum contract size of one micro lot. 

 
Another perk for newbies and for existing traders is that they can take advantage of a 50% deposit bonus and a 15% rescue bonus that is designed to protect accounts from drawdown periods. 
 
Along with bonuses, the broker also runs quite a few promotions: a lottery, where every week one lucky participant wins $1,000; a raffle for branded HotForex merchandise; a demo contest with a prize pool of $3,500 per month; and a Refer-A-Friend promotion, which rewards you with up to $200 for every friend you invite. 
 
HotForex customers can apply for the broker's debit card and get it for free if they make a deposit of $500 or more (alternatively, they can simply pay the $20 issuing fee for the card). Once the card is issued, traders can use it for POS payments or ATM withdrawals. 
 
The platform you will find at HotForex is the industry's most popular Metatrader 4 (MT4), and social trading is available through the Zulutrade network. The services of Tradesignal.com are also available, absolutely free of charge, to traders who have live accounts with the broker. 
 
In terms of trading strategies, HotForex is quite flexible and allows the use of expert advisor (EAs), scalping and hedging. Technical analysis traders will be happy to find a nice set of analysis tools available, the latest addition being the Trading Central software, offered for free to clients with $500 or more in their accounts. 
 
Broker Country Regulation Platform Min Deposit Review
Cyprus, UK, Mauritius CySec, FCA, FSC MT4, MT5, Web $10 Review Website
Cyprus, SVG CySEC MT5, Web,
cTrader
$100 Review Website
Australia, Cyprus ASIC, CySEC MT4, MT5,
IRESSTrader
$100 Review Website
Cyprus, Australia CySec, ASIC MT4, MT5 $5 Review Website
UK, Australia, South Africa FCA, ASIC, FSCA MT4, Trading
Station,
NinjaTrader
$50 Review Website
UK, Cyprus, UAE, South Africa FCA, CySEC, DFSA, FSB MT4, MT5, FxPro
Markets,
cTrader
$100 Review Website
Cyprus CySEC MT4, MT5, Web $1 Review Website
Belize IFSC MT4, MT5 $100 Review Website
Cyprus, UK, South Africa, UAE CySec, FCA, FSCA, DFSA MT4, MT5, Web $5 Review Website
Cyprus, UK CySEC, FCA MT4, MT5 $1 Review Website
UK FCA MT5 $5 Review Website
UK FCA MT4, Web, MT4
for Mac
$100 Review Website
Australia, UK ASIC, FCA MT4, MT5,
cTrader
$200 Review Website

Latest Forex News

CFTC warns about 20 new forex and binary options scams

Dec 06 2019 17:46:44, Jonathan Smith in Market

The US Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) updated its warnings list with twenty new forex and binary options scam websites, bringing the total blacklisted websites to nearly 150.   In the CFTC RED List, which stands for “Registration Deficient List”, the Commission warns the public against unauthorized forex and binary options companies that illegally target U.S. citizens – basically websites that appear to be soliciting or accepting funds from U.S. residents without having obtained the necessary CFTC registration, as a Retail Foreign Exchange Dealer (RFED) and a Futures Commission Merchant (FCM). Read more

Thai authorities seize over 15 million baht from Forex-3D scammers

Dec 06 2019 10:38:02, Jonathan Smith in Market

  Officials from the Thai Department of Special Investigation (DSI) seized over 15 million baht from the owner of Forex- 3D Ponzi scheme and his associates, the Bangkok Post reported on Thursday.   The DSI and Central Institute of Forensic Science searched four locations in Bangkok and Nonthaburi earlier this week, and seized assets from Apiruk Kothi, the owner Forex-3D, and his network members involved in an alleged scam.   This is the second raid conducted by authorities against members of Forex-3D. A Porche car worth 9.5 million baht, 3-million-baht Harley-Davidson motorcycle, and several other valuable items, were among the items seized by the DSI. Read more

EU finance ministers agreed to block Libra

Dec 05 2019 13:46:59, Jonathan Smith in Market

EU finance ministers have agreed that  private digital currencies like Libra – the crypto coin Facebook plans to launch in 2020, should not be allowed in the European Union until all possible risks are identified and properly addressed, Reuters reports.   Since Facebook revealed its Libra project in June, virtually all major financial regulators have expressed concerns about Libra's  possible impact on the global financial system. The unease steams from Facebook's huge customer base – currently the social media has more than 2 billion users. Read more

CFTC looks for a binary options scammer who defrauded investors with $3,8 mln

Dec 03 2019 17:20:38, Jonathan Smith in Market

The United States Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) apparently can not locate Peter Szatmari, who defrauded nearly 4 million USD from binary options investors.   In early October CFTC filed a five- count complaint against Szatmari for alleged violations of the Commodity Exchange Act and other Commission Regulations. Before filing the complaint however  CFTC and Szatmari appeared to have agreed in principal on a settlement, from which Szatmari latter backed and disappeared.   When Szatmari  attorney was asked a contact information, he said he no longer represents the defender and gave the Commission a  Kahului, Hawaii P.O. Box address. Read more

Bulgarian court allows the extradition of Gal Barak to Austria

Dec 02 2019 17:51:14, Jonathan Smith in Market

After a successful operation of the police in Austria, Germany, the Czech Republic and Bulgaria has lead in February to the arrests of several financial executives, among which the Izraeli citizen Gal Barak, who is charged of orchestrating an online trading scam, that allegedly has defrauded European investors of over 100 million Euro, now a Bulgarian court has given the green light for Barak to be extradited to Austria, reports Faktor.bg, a Sofia based online portal.   The Austrian authorities have several charges against Barak, among which a case of massive fraud, money laundering and participation in an organized crime group. Read more

Italy’s CONSOB blacklists EvolutionBrokers and KapitalSwiss

Dec 02 2019 15:30:33, Jonathan Smith in Market

   Italy's financial regulator Commissione Nazionale per le Societa e la Borsa (CONSOB) has blacklisted a bunch of unregulated brokers today, including EvolutionBrokers, and KapitalSwiss. CONSOB also ordered internet providers to block access to their websites.   Both forex brokers mentioned above are most likely involved in investment scam. EvolutionBrokers is an offshore brokerage that has also been flagged by the Financial Commission (FinaCom), while KapitalSwiss appears related to con-artists around Up4x and Easy FX Solutions. Read more

91 arrested in Indonesia over an online investment scam

Nov 29 2019 10:32:00, Jonathan Smith in Market

The Indonesian police has arrested 85 Chinese nationals and 6 Indonesians over an online scam that defrauded victims of over 36 billion Indonesian rupiah (2,56 million USD).   The victims were mainly from mainland China, while the arrests were made in Jakarta and Malang city, earlier this week after the Indonesian authorities received a tip off from their Chinese colleagues.   The arrests come just several days after 700 Chinese citizens were arrested in Malaysia over a major online investment scam.   The investment scam that triggered the latest arrests have been running for over 4 months. The police did not specify how many people have been scammed. Read more

Second person arrested in connection to OneCoin money laundering

Nov 28 2019 17:36:36, Jonathan Smith in Market

David R. Pike, a chief operating officer of Fenero Funds was arrested by the U.S. authorities in connection to laundering some 400 million USD, stolen through the notorious OneCoin Ponzi scheme.   Pike appears to have worked with the convicted OneCoin layer Mark S. Scott and was prosecuted after lying to federal agents.   Mark S. Scott was a CEO of the Fenero Funds – a series of shell companies, created by  him to launder OneCoin money. Read more

UpBit hacked for $50 mln

Nov 27 2019 17:05:16, Jonathan Smith in Market

After a hacker attack South Korean crypto exchange UpBit has lost some 342 000 Ethereum (ETH) coins, equal to well over 49 million USD. The exchange has assured its clients that the loses will be covered by its own assets, but for the time being all withdraws have bees suspended. The company says that it will take at least two weeks before its services are restored.   The attack tool place on Wednesday and 30 minutes later, Upbit announced that it had temporarily suspended withdrawals and deposits due to server maintenance. Read more

Charles Schwab buys TD Ameritrade for $26 bln

Nov 26 2019 18:01:43, Jonathan Smith in Market

Expected to be finalized in late 2020, the merger between two of the leading U.S. brokerage houses will create a mammoth company that will be in the position to challenge major financial rivals.   According to market analysts the new company will be valued at 100 billion USD – twice the size of BofA Merrill Lynch. The deal however will have to pass through the antitrust  regulators.   "We have long respected TD Ameritrade. With this transaction, we will capitalize on the unique opportunity to build a firm with the soul of a challenger and the resources of a large financial services institution. Read more

Show all news
de | cn | ru