de | cn | ru

Incompetent and untrustworthy account manager and broker

I have no choice but to give only 1 star to Hotforex due to my totally frustrating, dissatisfactory and disappointing experience with this broker.

On Friday, 22nd December 2017, I wanted to open a new trading account in Hotforex just to trade Bitcoin (BTC) because BTC had crashed to about $13K and even $12K from almost $20K a few days earlier and I wanted to take advantage of that crash. Before opening the new trading account, I communicated with my account manager in the Hotforex Malaysia office. I told him that I was going to trade Bitcoin with the Hotforex account. I asked him whether the deposit with BTC will be fast and he said yes but the withdrawal will take 3 working days. That is one minus point to me because in another current broker that I am using, I am able to withdraw to BTC in a matter of hours, which is very fast. Another negative point is that they charge swap, although one can apply for it to be waived if you fund your account with US$50K.

After opening the new trading account, it was another hassle making a deposit. Hotforex uses Bitpay for users to make deposit of BTC. I believe most users/traders would access their MyHotForex backend account on a desktop computer. On a desktop computer, when I tried to make a deposit via Bitpay, there were two problems. One problem was that Bitpay gave a warning that one's payment must include the exact amount of BTC and also a correct bitcoin miner fee; the thing is that Bitpay doesn't specify what is the amount for this bitcoin miner fee. The second problem was that Bitpay provided an address and a QR code that wasn't an actual BTC address so when I tried to copy and paste the address to my BTC wallet in Luno, it recognised it as not a valid BTC address. I even used a QR code scanner in my Luno mobile app but it didn't work either. It's so different with my other current broker that I am using. The BTC deposit was so easy as it generated a valid BTC address and any bitcoin miner fee was already calculated in the amount shown.

Anyway, my Hotforex account manager was not much of a help either as he couldn't figure out why there was a problem for me to deposit using BTC, although he did say that payment via Luno should work as I don't need a Bitpay wallet. After wasting a significant amount of time communicating with him and trying the process about three times, I finally thought of trying it on my smartphone but I had to login to MyHotForex backend account. It worked on my smartphone because when I did because when it came to the payment of BTC, a box popped up asking which wallet that I wanted to use and I chose my Luno BTC wallet. Apparently the Bitpay address that I saw was some kind of Bitcoin Payment Protocol, and not a BTC address, so I could have tried using it until the cows come home but it wouldn't work. One point to take note was that the BTC miner fee was rather high at 0.0034 BTC, which worked out to be about $45.

About one hour later, the funds went into my Hotforex account. However, when I tried to trade BTCUSD, I found out that trading was disabled. When I asked my account manager about it, he said that trading was off on 22nd December 2017 due to Christmas and the markets closed early, and he didn't think that I was going to trade on a Friday so that was why he didn't advise me or say anything about it. I was infuriated with him. That's really poor from an account manager. He is so bad that it beggars belief.

Anyway, on Boxing Day (26th December 2017) when the markets opened again, I tried to trade BTCUSD but trading for BTCUSD was still disabled. I asked Live Chat about it and was told that BTCUSD trading was disabled in Hotforex since 7th December 2017. When I asked my account manager, he said that BTCUSD was open on the morning of Friday, 22nd December 2017, but it was closed again without his knowledge. I really find that hard to believe because it's like the right hand doesn't know what the left hand was doing. Until today, 26th January 2018, BTCUSD trading was still disabled in Hotforex.

As a result of Hotforex and my incompetent account manager, I have lost a significant amount of time and money, especially when I want to withdraw back to Bitcoin on 26th December 2017 but the BTC price was already higher, causing me to receive less BTC. And before I forget, the withdrawal to my BTC wallet takes up to 3 working days to process and then Bitpay take another 1 - 2 days to send the BTC to my Luno BTC wallet. Bitpay is so slow that it is a disgrace! Hotforex shouldn't use Bitpay at all. My other current broker that I use has such fast withdrawal times for BTC that I can see the BTC in my Luno wallet in as little as two hours.

I am very disappointed with Hotforex. I would give them 0 star if I can. I wouldn't advise anyone to open an account with Hotforex or trade in Hotforex.

Kenviro2000 2018-01-26

HotForex is a good broker for novice forex traders to start their careers: it lets you open an account with as little as $5 and actually trade with this money thanks to the maximum allowed leverage of 1:1000 and the minimum contract size of one micro lot. 

 
Another perk for newbies and for existing traders is that they can take advantage of a 50% deposit bonus and a 15% rescue bonus that is designed to protect accounts from drawdown periods. 
 
Along with bonuses, the broker also runs quite a few promotions: a lottery, where every week one lucky participant wins $1,000; a raffle for branded HotForex merchandise; a demo contest with a prize pool of $3,500 per month; and a Refer-A-Friend promotion, which rewards you with up to $200 for every friend you invite. 
 
HotForex customers can apply for the broker's debit card and get it for free if they make a deposit of $500 or more (alternatively, they can simply pay the $20 issuing fee for the card). Once the card is issued, traders can use it for POS payments or ATM withdrawals. 
 
The platform you will find at HotForex is the industry's most popular Metatrader 4 (MT4), and social trading is available through the Zulutrade network. The services of Tradesignal.com are also available, absolutely free of charge, to traders who have live accounts with the broker. 
 
In terms of trading strategies, HotForex is quite flexible and allows the use of expert advisor (EAs), scalping and hedging. Technical analysis traders will be happy to find a nice set of analysis tools available, the latest addition being the Trading Central software, offered for free to clients with $500 or more in their accounts. 
 
Broker Country Regulation Platform Min Deposit Review
Cyprus, UK, Mauritius CySec, FCA, FSC MT4, MT5, Web $10 Review Website
Cyprus, SVG CySEC MT5, Web,
cTrader
$100 Review Website
Australia, Cyprus ASIC, CySEC MT4, MT5, Iress $100 Review Website
Cyprus, Australia CySec, ASIC MT4, MT5 $5 Review Website
UK, Australia, South Africa FCA, ASIC, FSCA MT4, Trading
Station,
NinjaTrader
$50 Review Website
UK, Cyprus, UAE, South Africa FCA, CySEC, DFSA, FSB MT4, MT5, FxPro
Markets,
cTrader
$100 Review Website
Cyprus CySEC MT4, MT5, Web $1 Review Website
Belize IFSC MT4, MT5 $100 Review Website
Cyprus, UK, South Africa, UAE CySec, FCA, FSCA, DFSA MT4, MT5, Web $5 Review Website
UK FCA MT5 $5 Review Website
UK FCA MT4, Web, MT4
for Mac
$100 Review Website

Latest Forex News

Austrian FMA warns against Estonian forex company Euro Wealth OÜ

Jan 24 2020 12:46:03, Jonathan Smith in Market

  The Austrian Financial Market Authority (FMA) has officially warned the public against doing business with Prestige.FM and Prestige Financial Markets – two forex brokerage brands operated by unregulated Estonian company Euro Wealth OÜ (previously AllProTech OÜ).   The FMA says that the company operates via two domains - www.prestigefm.io, and www.prestige.fm, apparently targeting Austrian investors without proper authorization.   Both Prestige.FM and Prestige Financial Markets offer trading on some oversimplified platform with rather poor trading conditions. Read more

Vodafone also leaves Libra

Jan 23 2020 17:34:17, Jonathan Smith in Market

The leading British telecom Vodafone is leaving Facebook's digital currency project, Libra.    Vodafone is the latest of a series of companies, which recently decided to withdraw from the project amid growing regulatory pressure from major central banks and many governments.   Most notably back in October Libra Association was also abandoned by Paypal, MasterCard, Visa and eBay after the European Central Bank, along with the Bank of England and the governments in Berlin and Paris warned that crypto currencies such as Libra pose a risk to the global financial system. Read more

SEC brings charges over fraudulent ICO that raised $600,000

Jan 22 2020 17:17:56, Jonathan Smith in Market

  The US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) has charged Sergii “Sergey” Grybniak and his company Opporty International, Inc. for conducting a fraudulent initial coin offering (ICO), which has scammed investors of $600,000 with unregistered digital asset securities.   The SEC’s complaint alleges that Grybniak and his company have illegally raised the money from nearly 200 investors in an ICO of the so called “OPP Tokens”, which were sold using a SAFT (Simple Agreement for Future Tokens) agreement. Read more

UK's FCA might ban credit card deposits with online forex and CFD brokers

Jan 20 2020 18:21:17, Jonathan Smith in Market

After earlier this month the UK Gambling Commission (UKGC) announced that after April 14th 2020 clients of gaming websites will no longer be able to use credit cards to fund their bets, some experts and analysts say it is high time that the UK's Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) do the same, as quite too many retail investors rely on their credit cards to make deposits on forex and CFD trades.    “Debt shouldn’t be creating more debt for the retail consumer”, says  Rod Martenstyn,  former CEO of GKFX, quoted by Finance Magnates. Read more

The CNMV remains vigilant, blacklists Forbslab and eTrader247

Jan 20 2020 14:32:21, Jonathan Smith in Market

 Unregulated forex brokers Forbslab and eTrader247, along with several other alleged scammers, have been the latest additions to the warning list of Spanish financial watchdog – the Comision Nacional del Mercado de Valores (CNMV).   ForbsLab is an offshore broker that has already been blacklisted by Luxembourg’s financial watchdog, the CSSF. The broker is allegedly owned and operated Walsh Invest & Trade Ltd or Kayescent Corp., a company registered on the British Virgin Islands.    eTrader247’s website, on the other hand is completely anonymous, lacking any company information whatsoever. Read more

Crypto scammer Patrick McDonnell sentenced to 33 months of imprisonment

Jan 17 2020 14:54:19, Jonathan Smith in Market

Patrick McDonnell, CEO of Coin Drop Markets, was sentenced to 33 months in federal prison and also ordered to pay $224,350 in restitution, after pleading guilty to cryptocurrency fraud last year. The Federal court in Brooklyn issued the sentence on Thursday.   Through his company Cabbage Tech Corp., also known as Coin Drop Markets, the 47-year-old New Yorker defrauded at least 10 victims of around $194,000, plus additional virtual currency funds, for a total loss of $224,350, officials said. The criminal activity took place between November 2014 and January 2018. Read more

FC Barcelona and FBS Sign New Global Partnership Agreement

Jan 17 2020 13:05:55, Forexbrokerz.com in Brokers

Broker specializing in online trading becomes club’s Official Trading Partner for four years, through 30 June 2024.   FC Barcelona and FBS have reached a new global partnership agreement, whereby the broker specializing in Forex trading is to become the soccer club’s Official Trading Partner for the next four years, through 30 June 2024. This partnership will be a boost to Barça’s global commercial strategy, as part of the consolidation of its international expansion to ensure it continues to be a benchmark club both on and off the field.    The agreement was made official at an event held at the Camp Nou stadium attended by Mr. Read more

UK's FCA expects up to 10% decline of profits in the forex industry

Jan 16 2020 17:47:56, Jonathan Smith in Market

The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) expects that the new regulations imposed on the retail forex and CFD brokers in the UK will lead to an overall reduction of their profits of between 6% and 10% - a decline which by the year 2021 may reach between 38.5 million GBP and 55.3 million GBP.   The data comes from the latest FCA impact assessment, published on Thursday, which measures the effect of the new leverage restrictions, adopted back in 2018.    According to the current rules, applied both in the EU and the UK, the maximum leverage a broker might offer its clients is 1:30 for major forex pairs, 1:20 for most CFDs and 1:2 for crypto CFDs. Read more

UK’s FCA updates its warning list with A.B.Capitals and LincolnFX

Jan 16 2020 16:48:27, Jonathan Smith in Market

  Another bunch of brokers have made it to the warning list of UK’s Financial Conduct Authority since the beginning of 2020. We’ll focus on two of them - A.B.Capitals and LincolnFX – which, according to the British financial watchdog, have been providing financial services to UK investors without a proper license.   As a matter of fact, the FCA exposed LincolnFX as a clone firm of company duly regulated in the UK with the name Lincoln Finance Ltd. The official warning reads that fraudsters are using the details of FCA-licensed firms to try to convince investors that they work for a genuine, authorised firm. Read more

Coinbase will pay $1 mln to victims of the Cryptsy hack attack

Jan 15 2020 18:06:18, Jonathan Smith in Market

Coinbase, the San Francisco based crypto exchange, has agreed to pay 962500 USD as a compensation  to victims of the Cryptsy hacker attack, in an out of court settlement, court papers reveal.   In January 2016 after a hacker attack in which some 13 000 Bitcoin and 300 000 Litecoin were stolen,  Cryptsy filed for bankruptcy. Of the stolen crypto coins over 10 000 Bitcoins belonged to customers.   On it part Coinbase got involved in the case, when victims of the attack accused it of helping to launder part of the stolen coins. In an official complaint filed in December 2016 Coinbase was accused of laundering some 8.2 million USD in digital currencies. Read more

Show all news
de | cn | ru