de | cn | ru

Horrific

I signed up to UFX after following a scam news article about bitcoin on the dragon's den. I stupidly took the article at face value and signed up, depositing the minimum $250 which was much more than I could afford but I was there because finances are difficult at the moment following sickness, and they prey on your vulnerability and naivity with the markets.

As soon as I entered my credit card details and agreed to the $250 payment for UFX and downloaded app, I tried to go back to the Dragon's Den news story because it wasn't obvious what I was now supposed to do - the website had dissapeared and a quick google search revealed that this was a total scam and I'd been taken in. I entered 'withdraw $250' and called my bank who said they couldn't do anything about it because the payment still hadn't gone out (I didn't understand that) but they said they would help me appeal once it did.

I then got an email from UFX saying that in order to withdraw my money they would need my personal documents (passport, driving licence, utility bill) - I wasn't going to do that.

A day later I got a phone call from someone at UFX, at first he was very plausible and friendly and built a good rapport. He convinced me that UFX was not actually a scam and was regulated and I breathed a sigh of relief thinking that even though the website was a scam, I must have somehow got through to a legitimate company. He tried very hard to get me to cancel my withdrawal of the $250 and that they would help me make lots of money on it. He talked about legistlation of cannibis and the impact of that on the markets and wanted me to invest in that. He then tried convining me to put an additional $90 in to have a UFX advisor because I am a novice. He was very convinving but used aggressive sales tactics and wouldn't take no for an answer. I kept saying we literally didn't have the money to do this as good as it sounded. My husabnd heard a lot of the conversation and was geting visibly annoyed at the pressure this person was putting on me - about 30 minutes into the call he spoke with the rep and ended up hanging up on him after 40 minutes because there was no other way to end the call.

I then got an email from the rep saying he didn't deserve to be 'hanged up in the face on' and trying again to get me to deposit and additional $90. I explained why we had hung up. I have been bombarded with phonecalls from that 0300 code since then, every time I block a number, they use a different one to call me. OVer 24 hours I had about 12 missed calls that I knew of but had blocked about 8 numbers so don't know how many times after these were tried. I also had texts, another email from UFX re giving them my personal documentation and several emails from the rep, Owen, about investments and again trying to get me to invest as his client- that he wants me to make money etc etc. I have now said that the communication is tantamount to harassment and I want my money back (I never cancelled the withdrawal). He replied saying "no you aren't, my clients make money".

It's awful scam and I've read horror stories since where people have been scammed out of tens of thousands with the same aggressive and convinving sales tactics. Stay away from this scam - if my husband hadn't been in the kitchen I think I would have got way over my head with this.

Lauren Jones 2019-03-19
Broker Country Regulation Platform Min Deposit Review
US CFTC, NFA MT4, Web,
in-house
$50 Review Website
US NFA, CFTC MT4 $250 Review Website
Cyprus, UK, Mauritius CySec, FCA, FSC MT4, MT5, Web $10 Review Website
Australia ASIC MT4, MT5,
IRESSTrader
$100 Review Website
Cyprus, Australia CySec, ASIC MT4, MT5 $5 Review Website
UK, Australia, South Africa FCA, ASIC, FSCA MT4, Trading
Station,
NinjaTrader
$50 Review Website
UK, Cyprus, UAE, South Africa FCA, CySEC, DFSA, FSB MT4, MT5, FxPro
Markets,
cTrader
$100 Review Website
Cyprus CySEC MT4, MT5, Web $1 Review Website
Belize IFSC MT4, MT5 $100 Review Website
Cyprus, UK, South Africa, UAE CySec, FCA, FSCA, DFSA MT4, MT5, Web $5 Review Website
Cyprus, UK CySEC, FCA MT4, MT5 $1 Review Website
UK FCA MT4, Web, MT4
for Mac
$100 Review Website
Australia, UK ASIC, FCA MT4, MT5,
cTrader
$200 Review Website

Latest Forex News

Australia to cap leverage at 1:20 and ban binary options

Aug 22 2019 12:18:25, Jonathan Smith in Market

  The latest major forex hub which allowed retail clients to use higher leverage, Australia, is about to cap leverage at 1:20, and ban binary options altogether. In an attempt to address “significant detriment to retail clients” resulting from trading in binary options and CFDs, the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) proposed product intervention measures similar to those applied by the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) last year.   This became clear from a consultation paper published today, which proposes a single leverage ratio limit of 1:20 for all forex pairs and gold. Read more

New Zealand’s FMA blacklists Profitix and Dang Kang

Aug 21 2019 12:33:57, Jonathan Smith in Market

    Unregulated Forex brokerages Profitix and Dang Kang International Group have been blacklisted by the New Zealand’s Financial Markets Authority (FMA) on Wednesday   The official warning against the first entity – Profitix - reads that individuals from the brokerage have been contacting New Zealand residents with investment offers and this has the hallmarks of a scam.The regulator has actually included two domains in its warning - www.profitix.com & www.incomeclass.net - and suggests they are operated by an offshore company called Enigma GRC Limited. Read more

Malta restricts CFD sale to retail clients permanently

Aug 20 2019 16:28:19, Jonathan Smith in Market

The Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) adopted permanent rules restricting the marketing, distribution or sale of CFDs to retail clients.  The restrictions, listed in the MFSA Conduct of Business Rulebook, are similar to the temporary guidelines introduced by the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) and include among others, a rule that all investors are granted a negative balance protection, as well as restrictions on incentives offered to trade in CFDs.    On top of that investors must be given understandable risk warnings so that they are aware of the high degree of risk involved when they invest in complex derivatives. Read more

$3,5 bln Bitcoin Ponzi scheme Plus Token pressures the markets

Aug 15 2019 17:42:11, Jonathan Smith in Market

The fraudsters behind the China based Ponzi scheme Plus Token are dumping bitcoins worth over 3.5 billion USD on exchanges around the globe, and that is creating a selling pressure on the markets, venture capitalist Dovey Wan warns.   Dovey Wan is trying to rise awareness of the the “critical” matter “before it’s too late”.    “This critical incident has been overlooked by the western community and will need all hands on deck to chase the scammed fund and freeze it before it’s too late”, Wan said on Twitter. Read more

Spain’s CNMV blacklists EurTrades, Trade100, and Key Markets

Aug 14 2019 13:54:57, Jonathan Smith in Market

  The Comision Nacional del Mercado de Valores (CNMV) updated its warning list on Wednesday with several offshore brokers - EurTrades, Trade100, and Key Markets. These entities are not authorized to provide investment services or investment advice in Spain, the CNMV said.  Nonetheless   Actually, the three brokers mentioned above are all registered in the Marshall Islands – an offshore zone, where forex intermediaries are not subject to any licensing regime and financial oversight. Therefore, such offshore entities are not allowed to operate on any regulated financial market, not only in Spain. Read more

Former binary options broker iTrader to be indicted in Israel

Aug 13 2019 14:07:37, Jonathan Smith in Market

  Israel’s state prosecutor announced that it intends to indict the company behind former binary options broker iTrader, its owner and senior officials, on charges of aggravated fraud and providing investment advice without a license. The company Gal Media Trade Ltd., owned by Ido Fishman, operated iTrader from 2013 to 2016 via the website itrader.co.il, and allegedly scammed thousands of Israeli investors.   According to the charge sheet, representatives of iTrader sold binary options investments to Israeli clients, applying unfair sales pressure and exploiting their lack of experience in this type of trading. Read more

CySEC warns of fake recovery agents claiming to be its employees

Aug 12 2019 20:32:52, Jonathan Smith in Market

  The Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission warned against fraudsters impersonating its officers who are running a recovery room scam. The regulator issued a statement on Monday saying that the scammers are pretending to recover money lost to forex brokers under CySEC supervision, soliciting investors for fees in exchange for settlement of fake compensation claims.   “Such cases occur often and may be part of a sophisticated online campaign that is defrauding investors,” warned the Cypriot financial watchdog in its official notice. Read more

Aussie crypto scam worth A$2.7 million busted, five arrested

Aug 08 2019 15:46:37, Jonathan Smith in Market

  A criminal group in Gold Coast, Australia were arrested for allegedly scamming over 100 Australians with A$2.7 million in cryptocurrency investment. Queensland Police charged five members of the group with fraud and money laundering after a complex and lengthy investigation known as Operation Quebec Walnut. Read more

EtherDelta investigated for exit scam

Aug 07 2019 12:01:50, Jonathan Smith in Market

  Chinese police are reportedly taking legal action against cryptocurrency exchange EtherDelta in connection with an alleged exit scam.    The news was actually reported in a series of tweets by the ex-owner and founding partner of the exchange Dovey Wan. She stated that the alleged exit scam involved the sale of native exchange asset EtherDelta Token (EDT) after platform was acquired by a group of Chinese investors in 2017.   According to Wan, founder Zachary Coburn sold the exchange and the Chinese buyers used it as a “front” to issue their initial coin offering (ICO), which turned out to be an exit scam. Read more

BaFin warns against 4xincome, orders it to cease operations

Aug 06 2019 15:44:28, Jonathan Smith in Market

  The German Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin) blacklisted unregulated forex broker 4xincome and ordered it to cease operation in the country. The regulator said that this broker offers German clients trading in forex and various CFDs thorough its website 4xincome.com without holding a valid license.    4xincome is a trademark of Sky Hub Limited, a company that is obviously registered offshore, in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG). Needless to say, offshore brokers are not allowed to operate on any regulated financial market, including Germany and the entire EU. Read more

Show all news
de | cn | ru