de | cn | ru

CoinEgg Review - is it scam or safe?

CoinEgg Review - Is coinegg.com scam or safe cryptocurrency exchange?

RATING: 1.2 / 13 REVIEWS ForexBrokerz CoinEgg

RECOMMENDED BITCOIN BROKERS


Trading Accounts

Account type Leverage Trading Fee Deposit Fee
Standard N/A 0.10% Free (Crypto only)

 

CoinEgg is a cryptocurrency exchange, based in the United Kingdom. The company only focuses on digital assets, without providing any form of fiat currency trading. While this will make them unattractive for some companies 

 

CoinEgg Advantages

 

A lot of altcoins – at the time of writing of this review, 42 different assets are included on CoinEgg. While the usual suspects, such as Ethereum, Bitcoin Cash and Litecoin are present, some of the rest appear to be more exotic. You must check the details to get the full picture, but it’s safe to say these are not the top coins, in terms of market capitalisation. 

 

While 42 may be a lot for some people, if you are looking for a specific coin/token, you should first do your research on the venues, where it is traded. Bittrex, Binance and EtherDelta are very likely to have it.

 

Low trading fees -  the 0.10% fee on all trades makes CoinEgg a very competitive exchange. While other parts of their service may not be so pleasant, you must keep in mind a lot of exchanges charge something around 0.25%, with Kraken offering 0.26%, but a more trader-friendly environment.

 

Has not been hacked – CoinEgg has been around since 2013 and we didn’t find any information on a successful attack around this exchange. This is not a guarantee for the future, but is always a good sign.

 

 

CoinEgg Disadvantages

 

 

Trading only against BTC – as we hinted in the beginning CoinEgg does not offer any type of fiat currency integration. Even the slightly controversial Tether tokens (USDT – a cryptocurrency backed by US dollars) are not listed.

 

 

Low liquidity on some instruments –  this is to be expected given the nature of CoinEgg – fiat currency deposits are not supported and some of the tokens seem bizarre (at least to us).

 

 

 

Withdrawal fees up to 1% - this exchange charges withdrawal fees, which can go as high as 1% for the more exotic coins. The rates for the more popular coins are rather acceptable, with 0.001 BTC, 0.001 LTC and 0.01 ETH, respectively.

 

 

No leverage offered  – CoinEgg does not allow traders to borrow money in order to speculate more aggressively. If this is what you are looking for, a forex broker may be a suitable alternative for you.

 

>>Forex brokers, offering Bitcoin<< 

 

These companies offer much better trading platforms (more on that later), but on the other hand do not grant you ownership of any coins. Instead you trade the so called Contracts For Difference (CFDs), which only mimic the price movement of the asset in question. This is how most traders speculate on things like gold and oil, but you should read the details on cryptocurrency CFDs, before trading with such instruments.

 

Poor charting – the platform provided by CoinEgg is relatively nice. The instrument list is placed on the left in a minimalistic fashion, while the rest of the things are aligned in an intuitive way. That being said the charting is not that helpful. Here is a snapshot:

 

 

 

Conclusion

 

CoinEgg is a UK-based digital assets exchange. The company does not accept or send any form of fiat currencies, which puts them in the category of trading venues which are not regulated (as no legislation for them exists). This will definitely not be everybody’s cup of tea, but when it comes to exotic assets,  CoinEgg offers a few of them. With such low fees, it’s not hard to see this exchange attract even more volume in the future.

 

 

Coming back to the regulatory aspect, we will reiterate what you probably know – dealing with cryptocurrencies still carries a significant level of risk. Even some of the top-tier exchanges have been hacked in the past. This is one of the topics on which the forex, brokers offering cryptocurrency trading have an edge. That being said, scammers do pop-up in the field of traditional finance. Check our list of tightly regulated forex brokers, offering Bitcoin below. 

 

>>Regulated cryptocurrency forex brokers<<

 

Here is the summary of CoinEgg:

 

Pros Cons
A lot of altcoins Trading only against BTC
Low trading fees Low liquidity on some instruments
Has not been hacked Withdrawal fees up to 1%
  No leverage offered
  Poor charting

 

Latest news about CoinEgg
No news about CoinEgg. Check back later.
Forex
Broker Country Regulation Platform Min Deposit Review
Cyprus, UK, Mauritius CySec, FCA, FSC MT4, MT5, Web $10 Review Website
Cyprus, SVG CySEC MT5, Web,
cTrader
$100 Review Website
Australia, Cyprus ASIC, CySEC MT4, MT5, Iress $100 Review Website
Cyprus, Australia CySec, ASIC MT4, MT5 $5 Review Website
UK, Australia, South Africa FCA, ASIC, FSCA MT4, Trading
Station,
NinjaTrader
$50 Review Website
UK, Cyprus, UAE, South Africa FCA, CySEC, DFSA, FSB MT4, MT5, FxPro
Markets,
cTrader
$100 Review Website
Cyprus CySEC MT4, MT5, Web $1 Review Website
Belize IFSC MT4, MT5 $100 Review Website
Cyprus, UK, South Africa, UAE CySec, FCA, FSCA, DFSA MT4, MT5, Web $5 Review Website
Cyprus, UK CySEC, FCA MT4, MT5 $1 Review Website
UK FCA MT5 $5 Review Website
UK FCA MT4, Web, MT4
for Mac
$100 Review Website
Australia, UK ASIC, FCA MT4, MT5,
cTrader
$200 Review Website

Traders` reviews for CoinEgg

Spread

Pros

Cons

 

 

Slippage

Pros

Cons

 

 

Requotes

Pros

Cons

 

 

Price feed

Pros

Cons

 

 

Platform

Pros

Cons

 

 

Deposit/Withdraw

Pros

Cons

 

 

Customer service

Pros

Cons

 

 

Summary

Pros

Cons

 

 

Scam! stay away

This is a scam exchange practicing wash trading, stay away

farhad 10/07/2019

F*ck these motherf*ckers

Same here, what a load of shit, impossible to withdraw my BTC, and they actually took a significant percentage of it when I deposited - it simply vanished into thin air.

J S 07/09/2019

Transaction confirmation on main blockchain but mysterious "hash error" on deposit. Now want 2nd deposit to fix

Complete bollocks! Did a test deposit and after confirmations on the blockchain, contacted support via their suposed telegram and kept on getting fed lie after lie why my deposit isnt showing in my account.

1. Your account transaction has been locked out from our database due to error on your account transaction hash script, this is why you're unable to receive this account activities successfully at the moment, which will require your account rectification process.

2. Don't worry we fix your account and your funds are safe, we would rectify this issue. do hold on okay

3. The process in our database is almost complete, everything is in order... all you need to do is to fulfil the requirements

4. In earnest, you have to make a rectification deposit to your account synced rectification address inscribed on our database okay

After telling them I am not making any further deposits and they should fix this as the problem is with their system.

COINEGG EXCHANGE Support, [17 Jun 2019 at 01:08:31]: That's the only way your account can get fixed sir

Kindly make the deposit.

Held at ransom. Advice to anyone here, please don't use this exchange at all! And this is no way a UK listed Exchange. Broken english is a dead give away.

Scammed by CoinEgg 06/17/2019

Coinegg robbers

FIXS COINEGG SCAM don't hope you can withdraw they are robbers

Romsky 04/06/2019

bad experience

I made a deposit of some btc into the platform and after so many hours/days the fund is not yet showing in my balance but I noticed they have moved the fund from the wallet I originally deposited it into another wallet.

As I type, my account is still showing 0 btc.

Even their online help is not helpful at all. how can a company based in UK not have a customer supports who speak English! I complained of having deposit issue, they keep asking me whether I was moving fund into their platform or out of it. One even told me he can not find any record for my transaction.

I can only hope I get my money back but please, don't ever use that exchange. They are thieves, fraudster and scammers!

lekan 03/20/2019

coinegg is a scam and not a UK based exchange

I am surprise to say that coinegg is a UK based crypto exchange, they are scam based somewhere in China, I did a transfer of $55USDT to their plateform 10days ago but 12days after my deposit is still not showing in my balance , all my support messages to them were ignored, when they replied, it was in chinese language, so I gave up they are scam period

Barry Hyacinth 03/04/2019

Coinegg Bad Experience

Transferred coins from Coinsquare and bought Elastos from Coinegg. Left on exchange and 2 days coins are in another account. Then was told coins were transferred out and they couldn't find the txid number. Later they gave me a number that Coinsquare checked and didn't appear on any explorer check. 3 months of bugging them and they keep not returning email or customer service disconnecting chat. They obviously have an issue they don't want to admit to but in the meantime I have lost .24 btc which to me is a lot of money. I asked to speak to someone higher up to investigate and was told they have no one to really look into it. Best bet don't leave any coins on any exchanges.

Patrick Ormiston 01/30/2019

Fake orders to be interesting for traders

This exchange is making your own orders to boost the volume. Look at XLM/BTC for example. There is a big spread between placed orders, let's make easy example: sell 0.000037 / buy 0.000036. As you can see there are regularly happening many trades in this range close to those boarders. Looks great for treaders, hmmm?
Then I come to place my order with big jump in price: for example sell 0.0000361. And even if there were so many trades with prices like 0.0000369 just before I place this order...I can wait even 1 hour and nobody cares about my order. Weird, hmmm? Everyone wants to buy for 0.0000369, not for 0.0000361?
And of course now the random trades continues in the spread range between my placed order....so buy 0.000036 / sell 0.0000361.
It is not a surprise, when I put my order out and the range is back at buy 0.000036 / sell 0.000037, the random orders come back to 0.00003695, 0.00003691....But nobody wants 0.0000361 few seconds before.
Very inconspicuous :)
Don't make an account here just because you see good oportunities. It is fake.

Filip 10/26/2018

Worst Exchange

Worst Exchange i've ever used ID process is terrible Withdrawal process is really slow and requires admin approval and wallets are in maintenance, and there is no way to know unless you contact them and customer service terrible they use a translator on zendesk which can be hard to understand i will not be using this exchange again.

c 09/26/2018

Shady exchange

Suspicious exchange, stay away! Some of their wallets are in maintenance, and there is no way to know unless you contact them. They sell their coins on other exchanges when they go up in price and close user's withdrawals until they can buy them back again cheaper. They may not even have the amount of the coins they trade since they sold on other exchanges, thus users cannot withdraw them until they re-stock them when the prices go down. Most recently done with DOGE.

A 09/10/2018

Scammers - CoinEgg doesn't let me withdraw

They are scammers, I have 400,000 dogecoin that they will not let me withdraw for four days, saying they are with the wallet in maintenance. I do not recommend to operate in that swindler exchange, I was allowed to withdraw the funds twice with little money, the third (when I put more money) I was not allowed to withdraw.

Arlequidas 08/16/2018

Common exchange, not a scam

You shall first make sure whether it is available to withdraw or deposit at first. you can do that through their telegram: https://t.me/coineggofficial and twitter. And it needs some improvement on operating experience.

Nate 06/29/2018

You will never get your money out

The ID verification is impossible when a 600 dpi flatbed scan of my passport is not “clear”.
The photo with the document in my hand was no close enough to my face, even though it almost covers my face.
What ever you send them, they will find a pathetic excuse to not accept the document. You’ll just waste your time trying, never getting any further.

Mikko 06/21/2018

coinegg is a scam

They Won't let me withdraw my over 800 ONT. Seems like they are doing it on purpose. Because I've put in a random nickname while signing up (how should I have known that I had to use my real name), and was not able to change it while undergoing the KYC process (there simply is no option to change it to your real name, the "Please fill in your real name" is a bad joke). Their customer service is extremely unhelpful. It has been weeks and many tickets, these bastards refuse my KYC. And I'm not from the USA or any other country which they won't accept. Binance, Bittrex, Gate.io, I've never had any issues with the KYC.
Either they play being dumb or they truly are dumb. I suppose it's the former and they want to keep my funds/money to themselves, the greedy idiots. I told them to look at my email address which is tied to my account, which tells them my real name, but alas, not even that could help. They refuse anything. No matter what I do, no matter how logical my solution is with my email address, they just don't want to cooperate.

annoying 06/17/2018

CoinEgg admin is incompetent, caused millions of dollars worth of losses

https://www.reddit.com/r/GameCreditsCrypto/comments/85205e/readme_exchange_status_which_ones_are_safe_to/dz577st/

CoinEgg claims to be safe exchange but blames other party for its own fault.
Coinegg wants money from developers to fix Coineggs mistake LOL
I know people that had 100K GAME on the exchange worth 20 BTC now their account is worth 2 BTC because the admin of COinegg forgot to update for 2 months after the hardfork.

SCAM. stay away from this crap exchange.

coinegg scam 05/18/2018

You will not get money if you send coin into CoinEgg

This site is scam. You can not withdraw your coin. They accept well, but never let you withdraw your coin.

K 02/13/2018

Ordered alt coins and cannot withdraw them

Hi,

I really start to be doubtfull about CoinEgg. I ordered IFC altcoins and wanted to withdrwa them, but I was unable to withdrwa them. I filed a complaint and everytime they ask me to be patient and someone will get in contact with me, but nothing like that has happed. I really start to think if this coinegg site is legit. Bottom line, I allready lost a lot of money because I could not withdraw MY coins, the coins I HAVE paid for. I will keep you posted if something happens, but it looks like what "stay away"has been writing here in this time line.

va-voem 01/16/2018

CoinEgg - Finally the problem of "wallet upgrade" was solved

Today my saga ended.
After 8 days trying to withdraw and talking to the support at least 2 times per day, finally the problem of "wallet upgrade" was solved and my withdraw of 2578 XRPs completed.

I will never do business again with Coinegg and I advise to you to not do it.
What happened is a total disrespect with the client.
Does not exist "wallet upgrade", the Ripple network is working just fine in every other exchanges that I use.
They keep your coins stucked for a period of time, and If you insists, you recover your coins after 1 week or more. And in this time you maybe lost some opportunities.

I wish luck to all of you. Don't give up and don't use it again. Tell other people to not use too.

Regards

----------------------------

For those who had problem with authentication to withdraw, just select any country, select the option "Passport" (even if you are sending your ID or driver's license) and send your documents.
After they verify your account, enter in chat each day and tell them that you want to withdraw. Insist each day (they will tell that the "wallet is being upgraded". This is the excuse they use to fool the customers). Magically some day you will get back your coins.
Hope this helps someone. Tell everybody to not use this exchange.

Stay Away 01/12/2018

Scam

I lost 250$ in this website, as this site it is a scam, their customer support is basically useless, and their authentication in order to withdraw is impossible. stay away from this site.

SCAM! SCAM! SCAM!

Andrei 01/11/2018

I can't withdraw from Coinegg!!

Like everyone else on here I can't withdraw from Coinegg.

FFS!

michael hulmes 01/11/2018

Its Racist

Looks tempting, but even if registration only demands an email add, any withdrawal demands passport verification, and guess what, in their terms and conditions they only accept UK citizens, while the withdrawal page accepts around 20 particular nationalities.

Stein 01/07/2018

Can't withdraw

They accept all incoming coins at the earliest. When you try to withdraw your coins it sucks. No proper support from customer support and their answer is the same that there is a technical problem from their side whenever you ask about withdrawal. Its like oneway exchange, you will not be able to get back your coins in any means from CoinEgg

Madhan 01/07/2018

Scam

There’s no way to withdraw! I’ve been waiting over 24 hours for a response. I’ve tried reaching out via Twitter, email, and their online chat support. Please stay away from this ‘exchange’!

Andrew Pham 01/06/2018

Not getting my money out

I transfered over $ 1000 in BCH from Egg to another account, however it didnt came in.

Dirk 01/06/2018

Coinegg scam

This is a scam. You can put money in and never get it out. I guarantee you'll wake up one day soon and this site won't exist anymore. Live and learn

Mike 01/06/2018

Can't withdraw plus they steal when you do withdraw

Can't withdraw plus they steal when you do withdraw

I tried to withdraw my Ripple but they always saying some technical work is under progress to fix the withdrawal. It has been for 5 days now. Withdraw TRX but never received and transaction on blockchain does not exists. So they are saying technical work needs to be done to resolve this issue. Nothing happened!

Stay way from this site!!!!

Alex 01/05/2018

Coinegg scam

I can’t withdraw. Nobody will answer me....

Bill k 12/19/2017

f*ck support

f*ck , scam , they dont support withdraw

kiencuong 12/16/2017

Beware!!!!

Never used this exchange but their company address as per THEIR website is a residential house on a residential street in Birmingham UK. Not exactly what you would expect from an exchange.

Dave Smith 12/04/2017

They are scammers

If you send your tokens there they will kidnap there, does not matter the amount.


Don't use Coinegg scammers if you value your tokens.

Coinegg user 11/29/2017
de | cn | ru